Emma’s On Liberty, Enmore

Emma's on Liberty on Urbanspoon

Gosh, this blog is starting to be full of restaurant reviews – where are the recipes?! Ah well, it must be December, when eating out abounds and home cooking is relegated to making gifts and Christmas Lunch.

For Mr Black’s recent birthday we took the parents to Emma’s, a local Lebanese retsuarant full of good vibes and good food. We ordered 5 staple dishes (traditional humous, babaganoush, fried potatoes, tabouli and fatoush) plus one extra dish each. The fatoush never appeared, but given the noise levels inside the place I don’t blame our host for not hearing me. I should’ve used my teacher voice. Boy those potatoes were a knockout!

Babaganoush

Traditional humous

Tabouli

Fried potatoes

My personal favourite are the ladies’ fingers (usually a plate of four, but our host made five for our group of five to share) – a crisp, delicate pastry encasing minced lamb with pomegranate molasses and spices. And not oily at all.

Ladies’ fingers

Of course, felafel are are a must. These were good, quite light – howvever, Jasmin’s felafel are still number one by far in my book!

Of the seafood dishes we ordered – whitebait and prawns – the whitebait was ok but not worth ordering again in my opinion, however the prawns (not usually my thing) were out of this world! The sauce was so heavenly, piquant yet delicate, I mopped it all up with bread.



We ordered three desserts to share: Turkish delight (tasty but could have been fresher/softer), chocolate dipped baklava (disappointing as the need for refrigeration makes the pastry too hard) – the sweet mozzarella pastry thing was yuuummmmmy! Warm gooey goodness, and not too sweet.

The bill came to $180 for five of us, i.e. $40 pp including tip. Not bad value, as we were well fed and happy. (I still can’t help but thinking of Jasmin’s mixed plate for $12 but I guess that’s  another matter. And another suburb… and for another kind of dinner!)

All-in-all I like Emma’s, it’s fun and yum.

Emma’s on Liberty

59 Liberty Street, Enmore NSW 2042

9550 3458

Open Tues – Saturday

BYO, Cash Only

2 thoughts on “Emma’s On Liberty, Enmore

  1. this place is on my wish list. i always try the falafel although that’s a shame it’s not as good as jasmin’s which is ranked as my number one place in sydney for falafel 🙂 the lebanese food at al aseel in greenacre has been recommended to me so on my wish list too

    • Yeah, I don’t think anyone’s felafel can compare to Jasmin’s!

      I teach in Lakemba and whenever we have a special staff lunch, we get Jasmin’s to cater. I’m a lucky woman.

Leave happy thoughts or clever questions below!

