Pork and eggplant adobo

This is one of my absolute favourite comfort dishes. It’s perfect for when you have no fresh vegies, and are feeling unwell or tired, and need something warming and hearty. (Tick, tick and tick!) The ingredients might not sound exciting, but trust me, this dish is more than the sum of its parts! 

Adobo is a traditional Filipino dish which I first discovered in my cooking bible, Charmaine Solomon’s Complete Asian Cookbook. I have recently adapted her recipe by adding eggplants (totally optional). For a more traditional chicken adobo recipe, click here.

Pork and eggplant adobo

This recipe is featured on Masterchef Food Hub

1. In a large heavy-bottomed pot, pour 1 cup of rice wine vinegar, 1 cup of coconut vinegar and 1 cup of water. Add a splash of dark soy sauce just for colour and a bit of saltiness.

2. Chuck in a few bay leaves, a teaspoon of whole peppercorns and loads of peeled whole garlic cloves. I think the original recipe calls for ten, but I have used fewer here as they were really chunky mothers.

3. Now you add the meat. I’ve tried pork belly, chicken thighs, chicken thigh fillets, and all work well. Essentially you want some fat and ideally some bone as well. Here I’ve used some pork chops which my lovely butcher cut into large pieces for me.

4. Now for the hard part: turn the heat to low and leave for a good hour or so.

5. When the meat is fall-apart tender, add in one eggplant which has been peeled and cut into pieces similar size and shape to the meat.

6. Once the eggplant has softened, serve with some steamed short grain rice.

Traditionally the meat is removed from the sauce and fried in a pan to brown and crispen. Sounds great, but I’ve never bothered because it’s just so good as it is!

6 thoughts on “Pork and eggplant adobo

  1. Hi there! Thanks for visiting my blog earlier 🙂
    I’ve always wanted to try adobo and this sounds good! I’ve never come across coconut vinegar before though. What is it like?

    • Coconut vinegar is clear and similar to rice wine vinegar in terms of sharpness but has a slightly smoother, sweeter flavour. I use it as it’s easy to find in my area, but I wouldn’t bother looking for it specfically – uness it’s just for fun/curiosity!

  2. Pingback: Moussagne « Scoff & Quaff

Leave happy thoughts or clever questions below!

