Homemade gluten and wheat-free Scottish oatcakes recipe

To me, there is no better savoury biscuit than the humble oatcake. With pate, jam or even a simple scrape of butter, the oatcake provides a crunchy, crumbly, earthy goodness to whatever your topping. They’re also perfect on a cheese platter as a more wholesome, gluten-free/wheat-free alternative to crackers. (My little babies worked out to be only one gram of net carbs per oatcake! Yeah.)

Image

Today I happily discovered that making oatcakes is incredibly simple! You’ll need:

  • 2 1/2 cups quick cooking oats
  • 1/2 cup milled flaxseed (optional – replace with more oatmeal if preferred)
  • 1/2 cup hot water or milk
  • 3 tablespoons melted butter or oil
  • pinch of salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda (bicarb soda)
  1. Place dry ingredients in a food processor.
  2. Start the engine and pour in the wet ingredients.
  3. Add a trickle of hot water, slowly, until a thick, firm dough forms.
  4. Roll the dough 1/2 cm thick. Use a sprinkling of flour (coconut, rice, wheat, whatever suits your needs) to prevent sticking.
  5. Use a cookie cutter to cut the dough into circles 5-10 cm in diameter and place onto a greased baking sheet.
  6. Bake at 180C for 20-30 minutes, or until lightly browned. (Smaller circles will take less time. Obviously.)
  7. After removing from the oven, place oatcakes on a wire rack so that the moisture from the underside can evaporate. Alternatively, turn over and place back in the oven (switched off) while they cool.

These will keep well in an airtight container for a week or so, but it’s unlikely that they’ll last that long. I served these babies with some stinky cheese and Cornersmith Cafe‘s beetroot and ginger relish.

Image

11 thoughts on “Homemade gluten and wheat-free Scottish oatcakes recipe

  1. Thank you for sharing, I have been looking all over for a gluten-free oatcake recipe! Approximately how many cookies does your recipe yield?

    • Ah I’m so glad it was useful! I used a small cookie cutter – about 6cm diameter – and it made about 40. I made them quite thin, but if making larger circles they could be a little thicker. Good luck and let me know how they work out!

  2. I never thought I would get 40 cookies out of the dough (although I used a 5 cm cookie cutter), but I did in the end! I made them as part of a spread for a family get-together yesterday, and we were all happy with the result:):) Thank’s again!!

    • Well, yes technically they do, you’re right; however oats contain a type of gluten called avenin which is different to the type of gluten you find in other grains such as wheat, rye, barley and triticale.

      The Coeliac Society of Australia state that about 4 in 5 people with coeliac disease can tolerate oats. So for the majority of people on a gluten-free (AKA coeliac diet), these oatcakes are fine.

      Thanks for the comment!

      • These oatcakes sound wonderful with the added flaxseed meal … I’m getting some in the oven asap! A year has passed, but Liv, you’re right as well 😉 If Wanda doesn’t want to see if she can tolerate regular oats, several reputable companies offer organic gluten-free rolled oats … Bob’s Red Mill is the most popular & easily found brand in the US. An excellent company, but there are others. Health food stores & many grocery stores stock BRM products here. Amazon & online stores carry them as well, if you can’t find them there.

  3. Pingback: Plum and Peach Jam on Gluten-Free Oatcakes | PhD Kitchen

  4. Liv, this was a great companion to my Plum and Peach Jam. I cut the recipe down to 1/4 the size for one portion, but I am wishing now that I had made the whole thing! Thank you!

  5. My parents sent me a box of Nairn’s gf cheese oatcakes for my birthday, and YUM! Thanks for your recipe, I can’t wait to try it. Do you think that to make the cheese flavored ones I can just switch shredded cheddar for the flax seed?

Leave happy thoughts or clever questions below!

