Gujarati Shrikhand – spiced yoghurt dessert

As part of our recent Indian Christmas in July party, my beautiful and talented foodie friend Sal (of Sassy Bites catering) offered to bring a dessert. Expecting sticky sweet gulab jamun, or perhaps some kind of kulfi, I was surprised and intrigued when I spied these beautiful little ramekins of spiced yoghurt – aren’t they beautiful!

Gujarati Shrikhand – spiced yoghurt dessert

Apparently the flavours go beautifully with Persian Love Cake (my absolute favourite sweet treat, available at Sideways Cafe) or you can even use it as a cake frosting. I also suspect it would be a lovely breakfast, perhaps with a little less sugar. Versatile! Clever! Thanks Sal!

Gujarati Shrikhand

Makes 24 individual serving

Ingredients

  • 1 kilo plain yoghurt
  • 1 pinch of saffron strands
  • 1 tablespoon warm milk
  • 1/2 cup cream cheese
  • 3/4 cup powdered sugar (Sal tells me she used panela instead because it’s not refined and has a nice caramel taste – only need 1/2 cup if using)
  • 2 teaspoons cardamom powder
  • toasted almonds and/or pistachios, to serve
Method
1. Hang the yoghurt in muslin cloth in a cool place for approx. 3 hours or until all the liquid (whey) has drained off.
2. Stir saffron through the warm milk until dissolved
3. Mix together the hung yoghurt, cheese, sugar, saffron mixture and cardamom in a bowl and churn using a stick blender.
4. Sprinkle a few strands of saffron on top so it can soak into the yoghurt.
5. Cool in the fridge until required.
6. Before serving, sprinkle with toasted nuts.
N.B. You may wish to make a few extra, as even though they’re quite rich, they’re so delicious that people may want more than one 😉
4 thoughts on “Gujarati Shrikhand – spiced yoghurt dessert

  1. Ooh, I adore Shrikhand! I can never have enough of it; I remember a moment of utter greed in my childhood when I ate rather a lot of it and felt sick for days afterwards. I went off it for a few months, but thankfully my love of it returned with a vengeance and has never left me again!

  2. Pingback: How to Wear Sari Gujarati Style Video « Ramani's blog

Leave happy thoughts or clever questions below!

